Home > documentation, Mac OS X, open source software, programming, Sage > Clickable Mac OS X app for Sage 3.4

Clickable Mac OS X app for Sage 3.4

It has been a while since I built a clickable Mac OS X app for Sage. But with the release of Sage 3.4, I thought I revisit the joy of doing so. I’m using OS X 10.4.8 and, like some people, I’ve been too lazy to update my Mac. Many of the steps for building an app for Sage 3.4 haven’t changed since Sage 3.3. The only major thing is that I now have to type in more stuff to build a .dmg for Sage 3.4. However, after getting over my fear of typing, I managed to enter a few extra characters and followed the building instructions as per Sage 3.3. Yes, I’m on a mission to type as little as possible.

With the source release of Sage 3.4, building a clickable Mac OS X app is still as easy as 1-2-3:

  1. Download and extract sage-3.4.tar to a directory that you have write access:
    tar -xvf sage-3.4.tar -C /path/to/preferred/dir
    
  2. Navigate to the top level directory of the uncompressed source distribution, and compile Sage 3.4 from there:
    cd SAGE_ROOT/
    make       # be patient here. Go get a drink or watch TV.
    make test  # this is optional. If you do this, be 
               # very patient here. Go practice zen or yoga 🙂
    
  3. Now create a binary OS X clickable app:
    SAGE_APP_BUNDLE=yes
    export SAGE_APP_BUNDLE
    ./sage -bdist 3.4   # this can take a while
    

But hang on. Why did I have to type in the two lines containing the SAGE_APP_BUNDLE variable? For the gory details, see this sage-support thread. In case the curiosity cat has bitten you, here’s my terminal session while building the clickable app:



After the system has completed building the binary version, you can find the binaries in SAGE_ROOT/dist. But what does it look like when it’s running? Well, here it is in action:



Have a nice Sage… I mean day.

  1. Prof
    3 May 2009 at 5:03 pm

    I have built the dmg package as described. Everything is ok. When I double click on sage icon opens the notebook. It is possible to click on sage icon and run sage on Terminal?
    Thank you for your attention.

  2. 4 May 2009 at 7:37 am

    This is a question for the sage-support Google group. So I’ll forward your question to sage-support@googlegroups.com

  3. 4 May 2009 at 7:41 am

    Your question has been posted to the sage-support group. You can following the discussion at:
    http://groups.google.com/group/sage-support/browse_thread/thread/39a6f802c88ed104

  4. Nick Alexander
    4 June 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Building a dmg took me more than 10 minutes and about 1gb of disk space; you might want to mention the space in particular. Thanks for the blog posts!

    Nick

  5. Nick Alexander
    4 June 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Make that 40 minutes, a 300mb app, and a directory that was about 300mb also left over (in dist/).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

